
Recording Deeds in 
Lake County 

 
Deeds for properties located in Lake County should be 
recorded in the Lake County Recorder of Deeds Office. 
 
Deeds are accepted for recording in person or by mail. 
Once recorded, the document will be assigned a 
document number, scanned, and entered into a 
Grantor/Grantee index.  The original document will be 
returned to the party named on the document. After 
recording, land records are available for public viewing.  
 
As always, it is suggested that you consult legal & 
accounting professionals to fully understand the legal & 
tax implications of recording any property deed changes. 
 
If there is anything that our staff can do to help make this 
process easier for you, please let us know. 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

18 N County St – 6th Floor 
 Waukegan, IL  60085-4358 

 
Phone: (847) 377-2575        Fax: (847) 984-5860 

Email:  recorder@lakecountyil.gov 
Website:  www.lakecountyil.gov/recorder 

http://www.lakecountyil.gov/recorder


Recording Requirements: 
1. Deeds must be dated, signed & notarized. 
2. Parties involved must be named. 
3. Grantee's (buyer) address must be listed. 
4. Deeds require a complete legal description.  
5. Metes & bounds legal descriptions require a Plat Act 

affidavit. 
6. Deeds require the name & address of the Preparer. 
7. Deeds require “Mail to” information (name & 

address) - this is where the recorded document must 
be returned, after it has been recorded. 

8. Taxpayer name & address for tax bills must be listed. 
9. All deeds require either a completed Illinois PTAX-

203 form or a signed & dated exemption statement. 
10. Local municipal transfer tax stamps must be obtained 

at the local municipality prior to being submitted to 
the Recorder of Deeds Office. 

If the property is located in or has a mailing address of 
Buffalo Grove, Highland Park, Lake Forest, 
Lincolnshire, Mettawa or North Chicago you will need to 
contact that unit of local government prior to submitting 
your deed for recording. 
 
Mobile Homes: 
In Illinois, titles for mobile homes are registered through 
the Secretary of State’s Office similar to vehicles. Offices 
are located in Deerfield, Lake Zurich & Waukegan. 
 



Recording Fees: 
The recording fee in Lake County is $60 for most 
standard documents. The fee may vary due to non 
standard document size and type or exemption from the 
Rental Housing Surcharge Program fee. Please visit our 
website or call us for additional fee information. 
 
If the deed involves a sale of property, there may also be 
additional Transfer Tax fees due to the State, County & 
your local Municipality. All municipal stamps and 
exemptions must be obtained through the local 
municipality prior to being submitted for recording. 
Transfer Tax Stamps: 
Per state statutes, State & County taxes are paid at the 
time of recording. Stamps are issued & placed on the 
deed as evidence of payment. The rate for the state is .50 
per $500 and the county rate is .25 per $500. Calculations 
are submitted on the Illinois PTAX-203 form. 
The State of Illinois has a website to prepare the PTAX-
203 online at https://mytax.illinois.gov/MyDec. 
If the transfer is exempt, a statement must be signed & 
dated on the deed. For a list of exemptions, please see the 
PTAX-203 instructions. 
Municipal Transfer Tax Stamps: 
The following is a contact list of Lake County 
municipalities that require stamps. 
Buffalo Grove   847-459-2500        Highland Park 847-432-0800  
Lake Forest 847-234-2600              Lincolnshire 847-883-8600       
Mettawa   847-573-1460                 North Chicago 847-596-8600 
  
 

https://mytax.illinois.gov/MyDec


Definitions for Forms of Ownership 
As a property or homeowner, your deed defines the form 
of ownership and how the title for the property changes 
upon the death of an owner. The following definitions are 
the most common references in a deed: 
Sole Ownership 
Exclusive ownership. An ownership so complete that no 
other person has any interest in the property. 
 
Joint Tenancy 
An undivided interest in property, taken by two or more 
joint tenants. The interests must be equal, accruing under 
the same conveyance, and beginning at the same time. 
Upon the death of a joint tenant, the interest passes to the 
surviving joint tenants, rather than to the heirs of the 
deceased. 
 
Tenancy by the Entirety 
A form of ownership by husband and wife whereby each 
owns the entire property. In the event of death of one, the 
survivor owns the property without probate. 
 
Tenancy in Common 
An undivided ownership in real estate by two or more 
persons. The interests need not be equal, and in the event 
of the death of one of the owners, no right of 
survivorship in the other owners exists. 
 

“Right of Survivorship” (not an ownership type) 
The right of a survivor of a deceased person to the 
property of said deceased. A distinguishing characteristic 
of a joint tenancy or tenancy by the entirety relationship. 
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