
Directions and Map

from the north 
via tri-state tollway (i-94)

Exit 132 East (Grand Avenue). Continue east for 
approximately 3 miles to County Street. Turn right 
(south) on County Street. Two-hour free parking is 
available in the county’s parking garage 1½ blocks on 
your right, near County and Madison Streets.

from the south 
via tri-state tollway (i-94)

Take left fork onto US-41 N toward Waukegan and 
continue for 15 miles. Exit 120 East (Belvidere Road). 
Continue east for approximately 2.2 miles to County 
Street. Turn left (north) on County Street. Two-hour 
free parking is available in the county’s parking garage 
3½ blocks on your left, near County and Madison 
Streets.

friday night building access
Friday night visitors to the Lake County Clerk’s office 
must use the building’s north security entrance via 
County Street, Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, or through 
the county’s parking garage. 

Vital Records Office Hours

Monday – Thursday	 8:30 AM to 5:00 PM
Friday 		  8:30 AM to 6:30 PM

before you visit
Call our office at 847.377.2400 or view our online 
calendar at LakeCountyClerk.info for exceptions to 
these office hours.

holiday closings
Our office is closed in observance of these holidays:
	 New Year’s Day
	 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
	 Lincoln’s Birthday
	 Good Friday
	 Memorial Day
	 Independence Day
	 Labor Day
	 Columbus Day 
	 Veterans Day
	 Thanksgiving Day
	 Friday after Thanksgiving
	 Christmas Eve
	 Christmas Day

election day closings
On the two Election Days every year, our office will be 
closed to walk-in and non-election customer service 
as all the Lake County Clerk staff will be dedicated to 
supporting voters, election workers, and candidates. 
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Where to Apply
Any couple wishing to have a marriage or civil union 
ceremony performed in Lake County, Illinois must 
obtain a license by appearing together in-person at 
the Lake County Clerk’s office, 18 N. County Street, 
Waukegan. 

Age and  
Identification Requirements
18 years of age and older

Applicants must provide proof of age and present 
valid identification displaying the exact name as it 
will appear on the license.

16 or 17 years of age
Marriage applicants who are 16 or 17 years of age 
may marry in Illinois only when both parents or legal 
guardians complete a consent form at the time of the 
license application. Parental consent forms are 
available from the Lake County Clerk’s office. Valid 
identification and the original birth record are required 
for applicants under the age of 18. 

Illinois state law prohibits civil unions for anyone 
under the age of 18.

acceptable forms of valid u.s. id:
•	Driver’s license, 
•	State identification card, 
•	Passport, or 
•	Military identification card.

If any of the above identification is not available, then 
applicants must present two (2) pieces of valid 
identification: 

•	�Certified copy of a birth certificate  
(certified English translation required for foreign 
certificates), 

•	U.S. original naturalization certificate, 
•	Foreign passport, 
•	U.S. resident alien card, or 
•	Consulate identification card. 

Affidavits or expired identification are not accepted.

Applicants must Provide:
•	��Valid identification with proof of age and first, 

middle, and last names as they will appear on the 
license

•	Place of birth
•	�Ending date and place of either applicants’ previous 

relationship  
(death, dissolution, or invalidity)

•	�Certified death, dissolution, or invalidity record if 
event was within the last six months

•	�Third-party interpreter for applicants who do not 
speak or understand English

parental information 
•	�First, middle, and last names  

(mother’s maiden name)
•	�Current city and state of residence
•	Place of birth

Previous Legal Relationships
Both applicants must be single and free to marry. 

Non-Residents
If either or both applicants live in another state, a 
license will be issued only if it is not prohibited by the 
state of residency.

Medical Tests
No medical tests are required in Illinois.

Valid Dates
A license must be obtained at least one day before 
the ceremony and is valid for 60 days beginning the 
day after it is issued. If the ceremony does not take 
place within 60 days, the license becomes null and 
void.

License Fees and Copies

	 $35	 Marriage or civil union license
	 $10	 Certified copy of record
	 $4	� Additional certified copies  

(When purchased together) 

Acceptable payment methods include:
•	Check, 
•	Cash, 
•	Money order, and
•	�Some credit/debit cards ($2.50 processing fee).

When the application process is complete, the couple 
will pay for and leave with their license. After the 
ceremony, officiants will complete and return the 
license to the Lake County Clerk’s office where it will 
be officially recorded. Certified copies will then be 
mailed to the couple.

Certified copies may be ordered and paid for at the 
time of the license application. Copies can also be 
ordered online by visiting LakeCountyClerk.info and 
using the Vital Records form.

Ceremonies
clergy

The Lake County Clerk’s office is not an agent and 
cannot provide contact information for any clergy or 
ministers. 

judges of the 19th judicial court
•	�Individual ceremonies are performed weekdays at 

the Main Courthouse and group ceremonies on 
weekends at the Courthouse Tower.

•	�$10 cash-only fee paid to the Circuit Court Clerk.
•	�You will need to bring a third-party interpreter if 

either applicant does not speak or understand 
English.

•	�No appointments, witnesses, or rings are required.

judges’ availability
Lake County Main Courthouse
18 N. County St., Waukegan
 Monday through Friday	 2:30 PM to 4:00 PM 

Lake County Courthouse Tower
301 Washington St. Waukegan
 Saturday	 9:30 AM to 11:00 AM
 Sunday	 9:00 AM only

For information on ceremonies performed by a judge 
and to confirm availability, please call Court 
Administration at 847.377.3600.


