New Illinois Laws for the New Year
More than 250 new state laws will go into effect in Illinois beginning Jan. 1, which will impact nearly all Illinois residents.
- Marijuana: The recreational use of cannabis for persons 21 and older will be legal, but individual municipalities may choose to ban its sale within their boundaries. Cannabis will be taxed in a manner similar to alcohol.
- Minimum wage: On Jan. 1, the minimum wage in Illinois will increase by $1 to $9.25, and on July 1 will increase by another 75 cents to $10 per hour. Tipped workers can still be paid 60% of the regular minimum wage.
- Salary history: Employers may no longer ask potential employees to share information about their wage or salary history.
- Sexual harassment training: All employers will be required to provide annual sexual harassment training to their employees.
- Cat owners: Pet cats will be required to get rabies inoculations.
- Public diaper changing stations: Every public building with a public restroom will be required to have at least one safe, sanitary, convenient and publicly accessible diaper changing station.
- Gender-neutral restrooms: Single-occupancy public restrooms can no longer be labeled by gender.
- Distracted driving: It will be illegal to watch or stream video while behind the wheel.
- School buses: Passing a stopped school bus can result in a $300 fine for the first offense, and $1,000 for the second offense.
See the full list of laws.