Highway Patrol Unit

The Highway Patrol Unit provides the greatest level of law enforcement service to all residents of unincorporated Lake County and 7 contractual municipalities. Contractual municipalities include Beach Park, Deer Park, Lake Barrington, Long Grove, Mettawa, North Barrington and Volo.

Lake County is approximately 460 square miles in size, contains 52 incorporated municipalities and 18 townships. U.S. Census Bureau figures for the year 2018, approximate Lake County’s population at 700,832, a .4% decrease from 2010.

Specialized Teams

In order to meet the demands of an abundant geographic area and sprawling population, 5 dedicated districts, utilizing 3 overlapping shifts comprise the patrol districts. To ensure the highest level of public safety, specialized teams exist within the Highway Patrol Unit. The teams include:

  • Bicycle Patrol
  • Evidence Technician Team
  • K-9 Team
  • Tactical Response Team
  • Technical Crash Investigations Team
  • Traffic Enforcement