Michael Danforth

Michael Danforth (District 17)

Lake County Board Member
Current Term: 2022-2026

Email: [email protected]
Office phone: 224-760-0027
Mail: 18 N County Street, 10th Floor, Waukegan, IL 60085

Board member Danforth represents District 17, which includes Barrington, Barrington Hills, Fox River Grove, Island Lake, Lakemoor, Lake Barrington, North Barrington, Port Barrington, Tower Lakes, Volo and portions of Lake Zurich and Round Lake. He has been on the board since February 2017.

His main priorities on the board are property tax reform, fiscal accountability, safety and security for our communities and environmental integrity. He has a B.A. in Political Science from Northern Illinois University (1986), and a J.D. from the Regent University School of Law in Virginia Beach (1994). He also served as an elected member of the DeKalb County Board from 1984 to 1986.

Elected Offices & Appointments

Elected Offices (Current)

  • Lake County Board, Member (2017-present)
  • Lake County Forest Preserves, Member (2017-present)

Elected Offices (Previous)

  • DeKalb County Board, Member (1984-1986)

Lake County Committees (Current)

  • Financial and Administrative
  • Health and Community Services
  • Law and Judicial
  • Rules
  • Special Committee on ARPA, Vice-Chair

Lake County Committees (Previous)

  • Diversity and Inclusion
  • Ethics and Oversight
  • Legislative
  • Public Works and Transportation
  • Reapportionment

Forest Preserve District Committees (Current)

  • Ethics
  • Finance
  • Operations

Forest Preserve District Committees (Previous)

  • Diversity and Cultural Awareness

Special Appointments & Other Public Service (Current)

  • Cuba Township Republicans, Precinct Committeeman, Vice Chair (April 2012-present)
  • Executive Committee on Pretrial Reform
  • Lake County Republican Central Committee, 1st Vice-Chairman (April 2016-present)
  • Northwest Water Planning Alliance
  • Stormwater Management Commission, District 5, Alternate
  • Teen Court Judge (October 2008-present)

Special Appointments & Other Public Service (Previous)

  • DeKalb County Forest Preserve, Commissioner (1984-1986)
  • DeKalb County Home, Health, Agriculture & Education Committee Member (1984-1986)
  • Trinity Oaks Christian Academy, Board of Trustees (2009-2013)