Sandy Hart

Sandy Hart (District 13)

Lake County Board Chair
Current Term: 2022-2024

Email: [email protected]
Office phone: 847-377-2300
Cell phone: 224-545-6591
Mail: 18 N County Street, 10th Floor, Waukegan, IL 60085

Chair Hart represents District 13, which includes Lake Bluff and Knollwood, as well as portions of Great Lakes, Gurnee, North Chicago and Waukegan. She was elected to the board in 2012. 

Sandy was elected by her peers to serve as Lake County Board Chair in December 2018. Her main priorities are good governance; environmental protection; economic development; mental health services, and criminal justice. 

Sandy has a B.A. from Indiana University’s School of Business and an MBA from DePaul University. She is married, has three children, and has lived in Lake Bluff with her family since 2000.

Elected Offices & Appointments

Elected Offices (Current)

  • Lake County Board, Chair (2018-present) 
  • Lake County Board, Member (2012-present)
  • Lake County Forest Preserves, Member (2012-present)

Elected Offices (Previous)

  • Lake Bluff Park District (2006-2012)

Lake County Committees (Previous)

  • Health and Community Services, Vice-Chair
  • Law and Judicial
  • Reapportionment, Chair

Forest Preserve District Committees (Current)

  • Finance

Forest Preserve District Committees (Previous)

  • Planning
  • Rules

Special Appointments & Other Public Service (Current)

  • A Safe Place, Board Member (2019-present)
  • Lake County Opioid Taskforce (2013-present)
  • Lake Bluff Open Lands (2014-present)
  • Liquor Commission
  • Sexual Assault Coordinating Council (2013-present)

Special Appointments & Other Public Service (Previous)

  • Behavioral Health Treatment Court Collaborative (2014-2020)
  • Fort Sheridan Advisory Committee (2009-2010)
  • Lake Bluff School Referendum, Chair (2006-2007)
  • Large County Board Caucus, Chairwoman (2019-2020)
  • Local Food Working Group (2015-2018)
  • Lake Forest Hospital, Women's Board (2010-2012)
  • Site Coordinator, Home Grown Wisconsin CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) (2007-2011)
  • Solid Waste Agency of Lake County (SWALCO)
  • Stormwater Management Commission (2013-2019)