Recreational use of marijuana is legal in Illinois as of January 1, 2020. The following information provides health and safety tips on both the Cannabis Regulation & Tax Act and what you need to know as an Illinois resident. Download Marijuana Fast Facts for more information.
Recreational marijuana use is legal only for those 21 years and older.
- The purchase and use of cannabis is illegal for anyone under the age of 21.
- This does not apply to persons with state-issued registry card for qualifying medical conditions.
- A parent or guardian may not permit underage use on their property.
- Violation of this will result in a Class A misdemeanor.
- A person 21 years of age and older cannot use cannabis in “close proximity” to anyone under 21.