Civil Union Licenses

Vital Records Office Hours


Due to the statewide response to COVID-19, marriage licenses are issued by appointment only. Appointment requests must be submitted two weeks prior to the ceremony date by calling 847-377-2400 Monday - Friday 8:30 am to 5:00 pm.

Any couple wishing to have a civil union ceremony performed in Lake County, Illinois must obtain a license by appearing together in-person at the Lake County Clerk’s office, 18 N. County Street, Waukegan, Illinois.

Age
18 years of age and older
Applicants must provide proof of age and present valid identification displaying the exact name as it will appear on the license.

Illinois state law prohibits civil unions for anyone under the age of 18.
 
Identification Requirements
Acceptable forms of valid U.S. identification:

  • Driver’s license,
  • State identification card,
  • Passport, or
  • Military identification card
If any of the above identification is not available, then applicants must present two (2) pieces of valid identification:
  • Certified copy of a birth certificate
    (certified English translation required for foreign certificates),
  • U.S. original naturalization certificate,
  • Foreign passport,
  • U.S. resident alien card, or
  • Consulate identification card.
Affidavits or expired identification are not accepted.

Applicants must Provide:
  • Valid identification with proof of age and first, middle, and last names as they will appear on the license
  • Place of birth
  • Ending date and place of either applicants’ previous relationship
    (death, dissolution, or invalidity)
  • Certified death, dissolution, or invalidity record if event was within the last six months
  • Third-party interpreter for applicants who do not speak or understand English
  • Parental information
    • First, middle, and last names
      (mother’s maiden name)
    • Current city and state of residence
    • Place of birth

Previous Legal Relationships
Both applicants must be single and free to enter a civil union.

Non-Residents
If either or both applicants live in another state, a license will be issued only if it is not prohibited by the state of residency.

Medical Tests
No medical tests are required in Illinois.

Valid Dates
A license must be obtained at least one day before the ceremony and is valid for 60 days beginning the day after it is issued. If the ceremony does not take place within 60 days, the license becomes null and void.

License Fees and Copies
  $35 Marriage license 
  $10 Certified copy of record
    $4 Additional certified copies (when purchased together)

Acceptable payment methods included:

  • Check,
  • Cash,
  • Money order, and
  • Some credit/debit cards ($2.50 processing fee).

When the application process is complete, the couple will pay for and leave with their license. After the ceremony, officiants will complete and return the license to the Lake County Clerk’s office where it will be officially recorded. Certified copies will then be mailed to the couple.

Certified copies may be ordered and paid for at the time of the license application. Copies can also be ordered online by using the Civil Union Record Request form.

Ceremonies


Clergy
The Lake County Clerk’s office is not an agent and cannot provide contact information for any clergy or ministers.

Judges of the 19th Judicial Court

For information regarding ceremonies performed by Judges of the 19th Judicial Court, please view this news release.

  • Individual ceremonies are performed weekdays at the Main Courthouse and group ceremonies on weekends at the Courthouse Tower.
  • $10 cash-only fee paid to the Circuit Court Clerk.
  • You will need to bring a third-party interpreter if either applicant does not speak or understand English.
  • No appointments, witnesses, or rings are required.

Judges' Availability

   Days and times     Location  Special Instructions
 Weekday ceremonies
Monday - Friday
  2:30 PM to 4 PM
Lake County Main Courthouse,
18 N. County St.,
Waukegan
Begin at the Circuit Court Clerk's office located at 18 North County Street, Waukegan, lower level of the Annex Building to pay the $10 ceremony fee. The Circuit Court Clerk will then direct you and your marriage party to the courtroom for the ceremony 
 Weekend ceremonies  Saturday
9:30 AM to 11 AM
Lake County Court Tower, 
301 Washington St.,
Waukegan
 
Building entrance is near the corner of County and Washington Streets.
Arrive close to starting time and check in with the deputy at the security desk. $10 ceremony fee (cash only) is then collected.
   Sunday
9 AM ONLY
Lake County Court Tower,
301 Washington St.,
Waukegan
 
Building entrance is near the corner of County and Washington Streets.
Arrive close to starting time and check in with the deputy at the security desk. $10 ceremony fee (cash only) is then collected.

On Sunday, the judge will leave once all court business and any known marriages are completed.

   
Ceremony Information Line


Check the court calendar or contact the Court Administration office by calling 847-377-3600 to confirm available hours and ceremony location.  


Helpful Links


To read the state statute authorizing civil unions, refer to Public Act 096-1513 on the Illinois General Assembly website. 

Lambda Legal - Midwest Regional Office
312-663-4413 or Lambda Legal

  • Equality Illinois