National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP)

The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) is a FEMA program. FEMA can only make flood insurance available in those communities that agree to regulate future development in the floodplain.

Fifty-two of Lake County's 53 communities (including County of Lake for unincorporated areas) are NFIP communities. These NFIP communities have adopted floodplain regulations per the Lake County Watershed Development Ordinance (WDO). For more information on community participation and responsibilities, see NFIP.

Flood Insurance Rate Maps (FIRM)

The NFIP also develops and updates FIRMs. FIRMs are maps produced by FEMA showing Special Flood Hazard Areas. The FIRM for Lake County per panel (as referenced in Appendix C of the WDO) is available on the Countywide Interactive GIS application.

Community Rating System (CRS)

An NFIP community may also participate in the Community Rating System (CRS) program. The CRS rewards communities that exceed minimum flood protection standards by offering lower insurance premiums for their residents. Gurnee, Deerfield, Highland Park, Lake Forest, Lincolnshire, Riverwoods, and the County of Lake are CRS communities.

For flood insurance policy holders living in unincorporated Lake County, contact Lake County Department of Planning, Building and Development for information on flood insurance rate reductions.