Sandy Hart (District 13)

Lake County Board Chair
Current Term: 2016-2020

Sandy Hart - 2018

Mail: 18 North County Street, 10th Floor, Waukegan, IL 60085
Office phone: 847-377-2300
Cell Phone: 224-545-6591

District 13

District 13 Map Thumbnail

Chair Hart represents Lake Bluff, Wildwood, unincorporated Grayslake, and portions of North Chicago, Waukegan, Libertyville, and Gurnee. She was elected to the board in 2012. In December 2018, she was elected among her peers to serve as Lake County Board Chair. Her main priorities are government transparency, efficiency, and ethics; being accessible and accountable to residents; and supporting programs for people living with mental illness.

Under Chair Hart’s leadership, Lake County is now filming all standing committee meetings to enhance transparency and increase access to local government. Chair Hart also created a new Energy and Environment Committee to bring an increased focus to sustainability, look for ways to address climate change, and reduce the County’s carbon footprint.

Elected Offices

  • Lake County Board, Chair (2018-present) and Member (2012-present)
  • Forest Preserve District (2012-present)
  • Lake Bluff Park District (2006-2012)

Special Appointments

  • Stormwater Management Commission (2013-present)
  • Community Health Commission (2013-present)
  • Opioid Taskforce (2013-present)
  • Sexual Assault Coordinating Council (2013-present)
  • SWALCO (2014-present)
  • Behavioral Health Treatment Court Collaborative (2014-present)
  • Chairwoman, Large County Board Caucus (2019-present)

Professional Experience

  • Assistant, Shields Township Assessor's Office (2009-2011)
  • Human Resource Generalist, Kraft Foods, 2006
  • Organizational Development, Kraft Foods (2001-2003)
  • Sales, Kraft Foods (1991-2001)

Community Involvement

  • Board Member, A Safe Place (Present)
  • Local Food Working Group (2015-present)
  • Women's Board, Lake Forest Hospital (2010-2012)
  • Fort Sheridan Advisory Committee (2009-2010)
  • Chair, Lake Bluff School Referendum (2006-2007)
  • Site Coordinator, Home Grown Wisconsin CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) (2007-2011)

Lake County Committees


  • Law and Judicial 
  • Health and Community Services, Vice-Chair

Forest Preserve District Committees


  • Finance


  • Planning
  • Rules


  • MBA, DePaul University, Chicago, Illinois
  • B.A., Indiana University School of Business, Bloomington, Indiana


  • Married, with three children
  • Lived in Lake Bluff since 2000