Sign In
Lake County Stormwater Management Commission  

Certified Communities 
List of Certified and Non-Certified Communities (May 8, 2015) 
Enforcement Officer Contact List (October 21, 2015) 

Certified Communities are those communities that have been delegated authority by SMC under the WDO to administer all, or portions of, the Lake County Watershed Development Ordinance (WDO) within their community limits. Certified Communities apply for re-certification every three years. See Enforcement Officers (October 21, 2015) for community contact information. Communities may have regulations that are more stringent than the WDO.

All Lake County communities have one of the following WDO permitting authority designations:

  • Fully Certified - Both Standard and Isolated Waters of Lake County (IWLC) Certified
  • Only Standard Certification
  • Only IWLC Certified
  • Non-Certified

If your project is in an unincorporated area, contact Mea BlauerLake County Planning, Building and Development (PB&D), 847.377.2333. SMC is the permitting authority for Non-Certified communities (May 8, 2015). SMC also administers wetland provisions of the WDO and issues wetland approvals within communities that only have Standard Certification.

Contact Us
Parking and Directions
Website Disclaimer
Site Map
Lake County, Illinois
18 N. County Street
Waukegan, IL 60085
About Our County
Alert Lake County
Find Help