Sign In
Lake County Stormwater Management Commission  

Community Certification
List of Certified and Non-Certified Communities (May 8, 2015)
Enforcement Officer Contact List (October 21, 2015)

Certified Communities administer the Lake County Watershed Development Ordinance (WDO) within their own community limits. The recertification process occurs every three years through the SMC, usually in conjunction with the WDO amendment process.

A Certified Community, per the WDO, must meet the specific criteria in order to be certified or recertified. Refer to Article III of the WDO for further requirements of a Certified Community. To assist in the certification or recertification process, see the following supporting documents:

Enforcement Officers (EO)

An EO is a person designated by a Certified Community to review WDO permits and enforce the WDO within that community. An EO is recertified every three years during the community recertification process, and must meet minimum qualifications including passing the EO Exam. SMC maintains a list of EOs. For specific duties of the EO, see WDO Appendix E.  

Certified Wetland Specialist (CWS)

A Certified Community can also be delegated permitting review and authority of the Isolated Waters of Lake County provisions of the WDO if it meets the minimum standards for a Certified Wetland Specialist (CWS). A CWS is recertified every three years. SMC maintains the list of CWS.

Contact Us
Parking and Directions
Website Disclaimer
Site Map
Lake County, Illinois
18 N. County Street
Waukegan, IL 60085
About Our County
Alert Lake County
Find Help