Sign In
Skip navigation links
SMC Home
About the CommissionExpand About the Commission
Contact Us
Floodplain/ Stormwater/ Wetlands RegulationsExpand Floodplain/ Stormwater/ Wetlands Regulations
Lake County WatershedsExpand Lake County Watersheds
Best Management PracticesExpand Best Management Practices
Rain GaugesExpand Rain Gauges
Flood InformationExpand Flood Information
RFPs Bids
PublicationsExpand Publications
Video Library
Lake County Stormwater Management Commission  

We Need Your Input
The Lake County Comprehensive Stormwater Management Plan update process will get underway in August with public outreach and stakeholder meetings, and a survey. We're seeking your input, information, and ideas about the County's current stormwater management issues and needs.

About the Commission

The Lake County Stormwater Management Commission (SMC) was established in 1991 through state legislation to coordinate stormwater management activities from a countywide and interjurisdictional perspective.

Main Components of Our Program

    • Managing Lake County's floodplains and watersheds by administering countywide floodplain and stormwater management standards.
    • Flood damage reduction through flood hazard mitigation projects, and implementing Best Management Practices, watershed management plans and effective floodplain and stormwater management regulations.
    • Natural resource protection and restoration by utilizing a mix of funding sources and partnerships to restore and enhance the natural drainage system.


The Commission consists of 12 members, six municipal mayors/presidents and six Lake County Board members. The municipal members are elected by their peers through the Lake County Clerk's Office. The County Board members are appointed by the County Board Chairman. Each commissioner represents a district of which there are six with a mayor/president and county board member from each district. For specific community and county board district representation, see Board of Commissioners.

The Commission is responsible for establishing policy, adopting the annual budget, and implementing the Lake County Comprehensive Stormwater Management Plan. There are three advisory committees to the Commission: Technical Advisory Committee, Municipal Advisory Committee, and the Watershed Management Boards. TAC members are appointed by the SMC chairman; both the TAC and MAC chair and vice chair are appointed by the SMC chairman.


The Commission prepares an annual work program and a budget. The work program is carried out by a staff of 18 full-time professionals, technical, administrative and clerical personnel, and supplemented on an as needed basis by temps, interns, and consultants.

The Commission's day-to-day functions fall under five programmatic areas: regulatory, planning, engineering, administration, and public information and mapping.  


SMC is funded through property tax and a mix of other funding sources such as state and federal grants and cost-share. The 2014 operating budget is about $2.8 million. 

Contact Us
Parking and Directions
Website Disclaimer
Site Map
Lake County, Illinois
18 N. County Street
Waukegan, IL 60085
About Our County
Alert Lake County
Find Help