Sign In
Sheriff's Office  

Highway Patrol Unit

The Highway Patrol Unit provides the greatest level of law enforcement service to all residents of unincorporated Lake County and six (6) contractual municipalities. Contractual municipalities include Beach Park, Deer Park, Lake Barrington, Long Grove, Mettawa, North Barrington and Volo.

Lake County is approximately 460 square miles in size, contains 52 incorporated municipalities and 18 townships. U.S. Census Bureau figures for the year 2011, approximate Lake County’s population at 703,462, a 9% increase from 2000.

In order to meet the demands of an abundant geographic area and sprawling population, five (5) dedicated districts, utilizing three (3) overlapping shifts comprise the patrol districts. To ensure the highest level of public safety, specialized teams exist within the Highway Patrol Unit. The teams include Technical Crash Investigation, Traffic Enforcement, Evidence Technicians, K-9, Motorcycle Patrol, a Tactical Response Team and a recently added Special Response Team.

Contact Us
Parking and Directions
Website Disclaimer
Site Map
Lake County, Illinois
18 N. County Street
Waukegan, IL 60085
About Our County
Alert Lake County
Find Help