Housing & Community Development Commission

Regular Meetings

Regularly scheduled meetings of the Housing and Community Development Commission (HCDC) are held at 3:30 p.m. on the second Wednesday of every month.  The meetings are held in the 10th floor Assembly Room, located at the Lake County Court Complex, 18 North County Street, Waukegan, Illinois.  Occasionally, meetings are held in the 2nd floor Conference Room, located at the Central Permit Facility, 500 West Winchester Road, Libertyville, Illinois.  Please check the HCDC meeting schedule to determine the location and to check for cancelations.

Public Hearings

Public Hearings are held in conjunction with regular monthly meetings, with public notices appearing in the News Sun and the Daily Herald (Spanish Version) and sent to a list of interested parties.

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • Ray Rose (Chair)
  • Linda Pedersen, County Board Member, District 1 (Vice-Chair)
  • Jennifer Clark, County Board Member, District 15
  • Steve Carlson, County Board Member, District 7 (Ex-officio)
  • Mary Ross Cunningham, County Board Member, District 9
  • Sandra Hart, County Board Chair, District 13 (Ex-officio)
  • Diane Hewitt, County Board Member, District 2
  • Adam Didech, County Board Member, District 20

  • Anne Flanigan Bassi, Moraine Township Supervisor
  • Mary Dominiak
  • Stephen Henley, Mayor, Village of Volo
  • Sharaka Leonard
  • William McKinney, Mayor, City of Zion
  • Michael Meehan
  • Janet Swartz
  • Dan Venturi, Lake Villa Township Supervisor
  • Laureen Wilhoit
  • Bethany Williams


We envision Lake County as a place, unified by diversity, where residents of all income levels have the opportunity to live, work and thrive by building successful partnerships with local governments, service providers, developers and fellow residents.

Composition & Role of Commission

The Housing and Community Development Commission consists of seventeen appointed and two ex-officio members. The appointed members are nominated by the County Board Chairman and approved by the County Board. The seventeen members include five representatives from the County Board, five Mayors, Village Presidents, or Township Supervisors, and seven Lake County residents. The ex-officio members are the County Board Chairman and the Chairman of the County Board's Health and Community Services Committee.

The Commission is responsible for overseeing local administration of the Federal Community Development Block Grant Program (CDBG), HOME Investment Partnerships Program (HOME) and the Emergency Solutions Grant Program (ESG) and other related programs. The Commission is responsible for developing the Consolidated Housing and Community Development Plan by identifying community needs, setting priorities and establishing goals. The Commission uses these goals to help determine which activities to fund on an annual basis.

Housing & Community Development Needs

The Lake County Housing & Community Development Commission will hold a Public Hearing to discuss the development of the 2017 Annual Action Plan component of the Lake County Consolidated Housing and Community Development Plan later this year. The Annual Action Plan will guide the allocation and expenditure of funds available for the 2017 Program Year (May 1, 2017 to April 30, 2018).

Public Hearing Information

All interested parties are invited and urged to attend this Public Hearing. All comments and questions will be considered. Persons in need of special arrangements (translator, specific disabilities, etc.) should contact staff at least three (3) days prior to the meeting date at 847-377-2150.

Written comments may be directed to:
Lake County Community Development
500 W Winchester Road
Unit 101
Libertyville, IL 60048

Questions, comments and requests for information related to the Public Hearing may also be submitted to Community Development staff by calling 847-377-2150.